Monday, February 19, 2018

Repost: Iza Calzado Heads List of Winners of the PMPC Star Awards for Movies

Image courtesy of

Iza Calzado went home victorious on Sunday after being named Best Actress at the 34th Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards for Movies held at the Newport Peforming Arts Theater in Resorts World Manila.

Calzado was recognized for her performance in the movie “Bliss,” a psychological thriller by “Heneral Luna” director Jerold Tarog.

She bested out Kim Chiu, Sharon Cuneta, Alessandra De Rossi, Agot Isidro, Bela Padilla, Maja Salvador and Jodi Sta. Maria who were also nominated in the same category.

"Ako po ay nanalo sa ibang bansa para sa pelikulang Bliss pero iba po ang manalo sa sarili mong bayan at pahalagahan ka ng kapwa mo Pilipino. I hope I can continue to use this talent and platform to bring light to the world," she said in her acceptance speech.

"I would like to share this award to all the other nominees for movie actress of the year. Star Awards means a lot to me. I grew up watching this because my father would always be part of Star awards. It means so much to me that I finally won and a major award at that," Calzado added.

"Bliss" made its premiere in March last year at the 2017 Osaka Asian Film Festival, where Calzado was awarded the prestigious Yakushi Pearl Award for her performance. It also stars Ian Veneracion. 

A synopsis for "Bliss" reads: "Jane Ciego (Iza Calzado) started acting in showbiz at a young age. Now in her 30s, she decides to produce her own film to win some respect in the industry."

"But things do not go as planned and an accident on location cripples her. Jane wakes up unable to walk and trapped in her own home, a large house filled with strange sounds and people who may want to harm her."

"She is looked over by her cold husband Carlo and a sadistic nurse named Lilibeth, and then there is Rose, a nurse wanted by authorities for sexually molesting a patient."

"She mysteriously enters Jane’s life and soon begins affecting her dreams as much as her waking life. Jane’s sanity begins to crumble as the horrors pile up in a symphony of blood, tears and madness. What was supposed to be a simple dream for Jane soon becomes an endless nightmare."

Meanwhile, here are the other winners at the 34th PMPC Star Awards for Movies:

New Movie Actor of the Year- Mccoy de Leon (Instalado) and Matteo San Juan (Magkadugo)

New Movie Actress of the Year- Pia Wurtzbach (Revenger Squad) and Joanna Ampil (Ang Larawan)

Movie Child Performer of the Year- Marco Masa (Tatlong Bibe) and Julio Cesar Sabenorio (Guerrero)

Movie Screenwriter of the Year- Sigrid Andrea Bernardo (Kita Kita)

Movie Cinematographer of the Year - Oydssey Flores (Siargao)

Movie Editor of the Year- Marya Ignacio (Kita Kita)

Indie Movie Screenwriter of the Year- Lilit Reyes and Vincent de Jesus (Changing Partners)

Indie Movie Cinematographer of the Year - Mycko David (Birdshot)

Indie Movie Editor of the Year - Marya Ignacio (Changing Partners)

Indie Movie Musical Scorer for the Year- Vincent de Jesus (Changing Partners)

Indie Movie Sound Engineer of the Year- Mikko Quizon (Bliss)

Movie Supporting Actor of the Year - Arnold Reyes (Birdshot)

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year - Odette Khan (Bar Boys)

Movie Love Team of the Year - Joshua Garcia and Julia Barretto

Darling of the Press - Harlene Bautista

Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Award - Gina Alajar

Male Star of the Night - Xian Lim

Female Star of the Night - Kim Chiu and Joyce Pilarsky

Faces of the Night - Joshua Garcia and Celeste Legaspi

Indie Movie Director of the Year - Dan Villegas (Changing Partners)

Movie Director of the Year - Sigrid Andrea Bernardo (Kita Kita)

Movie Actor of the Year - Raymond Francisco (Bhoy Intsik)

Movie Actress of the Year - Iza Calzado (Bliss)

Indie Movie of the Year - Changing Partners

Movie of the Year - Kita Kita


  1. Iza deserved the award napaka galing niya sa Bliss..I was so speechless throughout the movie...sobrang galing niya...

  2. Congratulations Iza, and also to all the winners

  3. I think ang award bodies sa pilipinas parang biru-an lang. Para ma push lang mga manok ng nga investors.

  4. Host kasi siya, kaya alam na!

  5. Kung meron lang sanang, filipino people’s choice award for best actress, it will surely go to jennelyn mercado. Im not throwing any shade at anyone. In fact, good for them. Pero jen lang ang personal choice ko kasi napanood ko ang mga movies last year na kasali sa na nominado at siya sa lahat ng artista ang pinaka tumatak sa utak pati buto ko.Lol. That’s how moving her performance was. Congrats pa rin sa mga nanalo.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...